Video: TMRO Orbit 10.28 – Suborbital Round Table

The latest TMRO.tv program has gone into the online archive:

We talk a lot about orbital spaceflight. Going to Mars. Back to the Moon. But what about the up and coming Suborbital space flight industry? This week we have a round table talking about the past, present and possible future of Suborbital space flight.

Space news topics:

  • Titan’s Complex Chemistry Has Developed An Exciting Compound That Life Needs
  • NASA’s Nuclear Propulsion project is Serious, and Awesome
  • Kepler Finds Signals Of The First Possible Exomoon
  • A new ion thruster for cubesats has unique fuel
  • Airborne Telescopes Will Fly During the 2017 Eclipse

TMRO is viewer supported:

TMRO:Space is a crowd funded show. If you like this episode consider contributing to help us to continue to improve. Head over to http://www.patreon.com/tmro for information plus our all new goals and reward levels

The Space Show this week – Aug.7.2017

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, August 7, 2017: 2-3:30 PM PDT (5-6:30 PM EDT, 4-5:30 PM CDT): No show today as am at Starship Congress 2017.

2. Tuesday, August 8, 2017: 7-8:30 PM PDT, 10-11:30 PM EDT, 9-10:30 PM CDT: No show as am at Starship Congress 2017.

3. Wednesday, August 9, 2016:: Hotel Mars. See Upcoming Show Menu and the website newsletter for details.

4. Friday, August 11, 2017; 9:30 AM-11 AM PDT, (12:30 -2 PM EDT; 11:30 AM-1 PM CDT): I will either play recorded interviews from the Starship Congress 2017 event or I will do a live program discussing the Starship Congress 2017 event.

5. Sunday, August 13, 2017: 12-1:30 PM DST (3-4:30 PM EDT, 2-3:30 PM CDT): We welcome back Dylan Taylor to discuss commercial and NewSpace financing, investment, and business issues.

See also:
* The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
* The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
* The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
David Livingston

Videos: “Space to Ground” weekly report on the ISS – Aug.4.2017

Here is this week’s “Space to Ground” report from NASA on activities related to the International Space Station:

This ultra-high def clip shows a typical scene looking out the station:

This time-lapse imagery taken by NASA astronaut Jack Fischer from the International Space Station in 4K Ultra High Defintion takes us over the Pacific Ocean’s moon glint and above the night lights of San Francisco, Calif. through Denver, Colo.

Running on the station:

 

====

Videos: Curiosity marks five years searching for clues to Mars early history

NASA JPL highlights the five year anniversary of the Curiosity Rover‘s arrival on Mars with a set of videos about the mission so far:

Five Years Ago and 154 Million Miles Away: Touchdown!

Five years since it landed near Mount Sharp on Mars in August 2017 and nearly three years since reaching the base of the mountain, NASA’s Curiosity Mars rover is climbing toward multiple layers of Mount Sharp visible in this view from the rover’s Mast Camera. Credit: NASA/JPL-Caltech/MSSS › Full image and caption

NASA’s Curiosity Mars rover, which landed near Mount Sharp five years ago this week, is examining clues on that mountain about long-ago lakes on Mars.

On Aug. 5, 2012, the mission team at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California, exalted at radio confirmation and first images from Curiosity after the rover’s touchdown using a new “sky crane” landing method. Transmissions at the speed of light took nearly 14 minutes to travel from Mars to Earth, which that day were about 154 million miles (248 million kilometers) apart.

Those first images included a view of Mount Sharp. The mission accomplished its main goal in less than a year, before reaching the mountain. It determined that an ancient lake environment on this part of Mars offered the conditions needed for life — fresh water, other key chemical ingredients and an energy source.

On Mount Sharp since 2014, Curiosity has examined environments where both water and wind have left their marks. Having studied more than 600 vertical feet of rock with signs of lakes and later groundwater, Curiosity’s international science team concluded that habitable conditions lasted for at least millions of years. With higher destinations ahead, Curiosity will continue exploring how this habitable world changed through time.

For more about the mission, visit: https://mars.jpl.nasa.gov/msl

====

Video: TMRO Orbit 10.27 – The Space Launch System Roundtable

Here is the latest TMRO.tv program: The Space Launch System Roundtable – Orbit 10.27 – TMRO

Our long awaited Space Launch System or SLS roundtable discussion has arrived! Benjamin, Mike, Jared and Cariann all talk about NASA’s new super heavy lift rocket, its merits and faults. 

Space news topics:

  • Private Space Telescope? NASA’s Thinking About It
  • Astrobotic and ULA planning 2019 robotic moon landing
  • New Study Finds The Moon Has Water In Volcanic Leftovers
  • Senate votes on NASA 2018 budget
  • Breakthrough Starshot Flies Smallest Sat Ever

TMRO is viewer supported:

TMRO:Space is a crowd funded show. If you like this episode consider contributing to help us to continue to improve. Head over to http://www.patreon.com/tmro for information plus our all new goals and reward levels

Everyone can participate in space