Category Archives: Uncategorized

The Space Show this week – Mar.29.2021

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Mar. 29, 2021; 7 pm PDT (9 pm CDT, 10 pm EDT: No program today.

2. Tuesday, Mar.30, 2021; 7 pm PDT (9 pm CDT, 10 pm EDT): We welcome back Michelle Evans who will be presenting new material for her classic X-15 book, The X-15 Rocket Plane: Flying the First Wings into Space [Amazon commission link].

3. Wednesday, Mar.31 2021, 1:30 pm PDT (3:30 CDT, 4:30 pm EDT): Hotel Mars – Dr. Haym Benaroya, of Rutgers University will talk with John Batchelor and Dr. David Livingston about the latest developments in  lunar habitats, returning to the Moon and more.

4. Thursday, Apr. 1, 2021; 6:30-8:90 pm PDT (8:30-10:00 pm CDT, 9:30-11:00 pm EDT): A San Francisco AIAA Chapter webinar featuring an interview with Dr. David Livingston about The Space Show with Kim Holder and John Jossy. For registration and details for “The Space Show Behind The Scenes” program, see The Space Show website Upcoming Show Menu for April 1, 2021.

5. Friday, Apr.2, 2021; 9:30-11 am PDT (11:30 am-1 pm CDT, 12:30-2 pm EDT): We welcome Bruce Pittman back to the program to discuss his proposal, “Spacecraft Nation:  A Toolkit for Building Back Better Using Space“.

6. Sunday, Apr.4, 2021; 12-1:30 pm PDT (3-4:30 pm EDT, 2-3:30 pm CDT): No program today as this is Easter Sunday.

Some recent shows:

** Sunday, Mar.28.2021Leonard David and Barbara Sprungman-David discussed “multiple topics including space educational outreach and the impact of the pandemic on kids with Zoom learning and space“.

** Friday, Mar.26.2021Robert (Sam) Wilson discuss his paper on hypersonics for weapons and other purposes. Find more about the paper (pdf) at The Hypersonic Missile Debate | The Aerospace Corporation.

**  Wednesday, Mar.24.2021 – Hotel Mars – The Space Show/John Bachelor Show – Anatoly Zak of RussianSpaceWeb.com talked with John Batchelor and Dr. David Livingston about “the Perseverance on mars, the upcoming helicopter flight in the thin Martian atmosphere, Curiosity progress, plus we talked about the ISS leak in the Russian segment, the effort to repair it, the materials used in the repair, the impact of the leak on the remaining life of the ISS and related items. In the second segment, we discussed the agreement with China and Russia on establishing a lunar base together in the not too distant future.

** Tuesday, Mar.23.2021Robert Zimmermanreturned for a two hour plus discussion ranging from the Mars rovers, especially Perseverance, to NASA marketing policy for Mars and the rover missions, to suborbital tourism, SpaceX, Blue Origin and Virgin news plus more.

** See also:
* The Space Show Archives
* The Space Show Newsletter
* The Space Show Shop

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
The Space Show – Dr. David Livingston

=== Amazon Ads ===

Rise of the Space Age Millennials:
The Space Aspirations of a Rising Generation

===

America’s New Destiny in Space

Space policy roundup – Jan.8.2020

A sampling of links to recent space policy, politics, and government (US and international) related space news and resource items that I found of interest (find previous space policy roundups here):

Webcasts:

**  The Space Show – Tue, 01/07/2020 –  Dr. Malcolm Davis “from Australia regarding commercial space, national space security and much more”

** January 3, 2020 Zimmerman/Batchelor podcast | Behind The Black

** Episode T+144: 2019 Impacts – Main Engine Cut Off

A look back at 2019 through the lens of “Who actually did something that matters this year?”

==

== Amazon Ad ==

Fire in the Sky:
Cosmic Collisions, Killer Asteroids, and
the Race to Defend Earth

Space policy roundup – April.26.2019

A sampling of links to recent space policy, politics, and government (US and international) related space news and resource items that I found of interest:

Webcasts:

** China in Space: A Strategic Competition? | U.S.-CHINA – Senate hearing on April 25, 22019:

Unable to see this video? Click here.

** The Space Show – Mon, 04/22/2019Daniel Suarez discussed his new science fiction novel, Delta-v, and “deep space mining, space economics, commercial space, policy and regulations, government space activities, risk taking, lunar return, Mars and much much more”.

** The Space Show – Tue, 04/23/2019Jeffrey Smith talked about his two recent booster series articles on The Space Review (Part 1 and Part 2) and “also talked rocket and booster history, returning to the Moon and more”.

** Constellations, a New Space and Satellite Innovation Podcast: 48 – Explosion in VC Funding, The Year of Commercial Space Travel and Earth Observation for Everyone

Investment in the satellite and space industry has evolved from traditional government sources to backing by a couple of billionaire Unicorn investors, and now to an explosion in venture capital and angel investors driving the industry. This new wave of funding has taken the industry from a dozen or so privately funded space companies globally in 2009 to 435 today, that have received over $20 billion in investment. Chad Anderson, CEO of Space Angels discusses many of the exciting trends occurring in the space industry including where investment funding is going, and more importantly why. He talks about his prediction that 2018 would be the year of SmallSat and that 2019 will be the year of Commercial Space Travel. Chad also discusses the potential for earth observation to follow the path of GPS and become tightly intertwined in our everyday lives.

** April 23, 2019 Zimmerman/Batchelor podcast | Behind The Black

https://audioboom.com/posts/7242649-spacex-man-rated-dragon-capsule-suffers-an-anomaly-in-tests-bob-zimmerman-behindtheblack-com

====

====

Outpost in Orbit: A Pictorial & Verbal History of the Space Station

Video: “SETI Talks: The Future of NASA Space Telescopes”

Here is a recent SETI Institute seminar in which three scientists each presented a different proposal for a next-generation space observatory: SETI Talks The Future of NASA Space Telescopes – What to Look for in the Next Generation

Three of those space telescopes got the attention of the SETI Institute because of their potential to answer the question, “Are We Alone?”

The Origins Space Telescope (Origins) is a large cooled infrared space telescope with higher sensitivity and better angular resolution than any prior observatory accessing similar wavelengths. Among its many science objectives covering the first stars to life, Origins could help scientists understand the abundance and availability of water for habitable planets and could look for biosignatures on potentially habitable worlds transiting low-mass stars.

The Large UV Optical Infrared Surveyor (or LUVOIR) is a general-purpose observatory; its key science goal is to characterize a wide range of exoplanets, including those that might be habitable and orbiting a range of stellar types.

The Habitable Exoplanet Imaging Mission (HabEx) is a space telescope, optimized to search for and image Earth-sized exoplanets in the habitable zones around sun-like stars, where liquid water might exist. HabEx would also have a suite of general astrophysics science capabilities.

Each of these concepts has pros and cons, as well as other technological, cost, and risk challenges. These mission concepts will be described in detail in their final study reports, which will be delivered to the National Academy of Sciences for the Astro 2020 Decadal Survey later this year. It is still unknown whether the Decadal Survey will prioritize none, one, or even all of these concepts, but the several hundred scientists and engineers involved in these mission concept studies for the past three years are confident that we are now capable of building these telescopes, and that the science that they can deliver will be compelling and change again our view of the cosmos, just as the Hubble Space Telescope has done for the past 3 decades.

====

Einstein’s Monsters: The Life and Times of Black Holes

The Space Show this week – Feb.4.2019

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1 Monday, Feb. 4, 2019: 2-3:30 pm PST (4-5:30 pm CST, 5-6:30 pm EST): No show for today.

2. Tuesday, Feb. 5, 2019: 7-8:30 pm PST (9-10:30 pm CST, 10-11:30 pm EST): We welcome back Robert Zimmerman for space news updates.

3. Wednesday, Feb. 6 2019: Hotel Mars. See Upcoming Show Menu and the website newsletter for details. Hotel Mars is pre-recorded by John Batchelor. It is archived on The Space Show site after John posts it on his website.

4. Friday, Feb. 8, 2019: 9:30-11 am PST (11:30 am -1 pm CST, 12:30-2 pm EST): We welcome back Mark Whittington on returning to the Moon, policy and more.

5. Sunday, Feb. 10, 2019: 12-1:30 PM PST (3-4:30 PM EST, 2-3:30 PM CST): Dr. Beth O’Leary and Lisa Westwood are with us to discuss preserving space historical sites and more.

Some recent programs:

** Fri, 02/01/2019Dr. Michael Schmidt and Dr. Thomas Goodwin discussed “Pharmacogenomics in spaceflight, personalize spaceflight genetics for safety and better effectiveness, drug issues in space, the Moon, Mars, risk factors, metabolism and much more”.

** Tue, 01/29/2019Rod Pyle talked about “his new book Interplanetary Robots: True Stories of Space Exploration plus specific missions, Mars, Saturn, the Moon, the attributes of a PI and much more”.

** Mon, 01/28/2019Laura Forczyk spoke about her book project “Rise Of The Space Age Millennials: The Space Aspirations of a Rising Generation, plus additional multiple commercial space topics, policy issues, and STEM subjects”.

** Sun, 01/27/2019Robert (Rob) Godwin talked about his new book, Outpost in Orbit: A Pictorial & Verbal History of the Space Station.

See also:
* The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
* The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
* The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
The Space Show – David Livingston

====

Telescopes and Binoculars at Amazon