Category Archives: Uncategorized

“Venus” – A 4-part graphic novel

Phil Plait reviewed Venus, the four part comic coming out in October: Rick Loverd comic book mini-series Venus features good science.

What would it take to colonize Venus?

The idea is a bit far-fetched right now, but in 100 years or more, who knows? It might be possible, if our circumstances drive us to try it … and that’s the premise for the four-part comic miniseries Venus, written by my friend Rick Loverd and published by Boom! Studios.

So when Rick asked me to take a look at his comic about the crew of the Mayflower, a group of explorers who will be the first to attempt to live on the barely tamed surface of Venus, I was intrigued. Unsurprisingly to me, I liked it! It has a lot of comic-style derring-do coupled with a pretty firm basis in science, extrapolating from what we know today and seeing where it might take us.

More at VENUS #1 (OF 4) | BOOM! Studios Blog

Venus_001_Main_PRESS-666x1024[1]
VENUS #1 Main Cover by W. Scott Forbes

====

Video: NASA, the Int. Space Station, and commercial businesses

Here is a NASA video on the scientific research and application development happening on the International Space Station by commercial businesses:

Alexander MacDonald of NASA’s Emerging Space Office gave an interesting talk at the recent Int. Symposium on Personal and Commercial Spaceflight (ISPCS 2015) on the history of private space development and commercial partnerships with NASA.

The Space Show this week – Nov.16.15

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Nov. 16. 2015: 2-3:30 PM PST (5-6:30 PM EST; 4-5:30 PM CST): We welcome WAYNE ELEAZER to the show to discuss his recent Space Review postings.

2. Tuesday, Nov. 17, 2015:,7-8:30 PM PST (10-11:30 PM EST, 9-10:30 PM CST): We welcome back DOUG MESSIER of Parabolic Arc for news and updates.

3. Friday, Nov. 20, 2015; 9:30 -11 AM PST (12:30-2 PM EST; 11:30-1 PM CST) We welcome DR. JIM LOGAN, DAN ADAMO & DR. JOHN JURIST for a roundtable discussion on HSF in general & specifically to Mars, the Moon and more, plus many other topics.

4. Sunday, Nov. 22, 2015: 12-1:30 PM PST (3-4:30 PM EST, 2-3:30 PM CST): We welcome DAVID LOVE from the UK and author of Kepler And The Universe: How One Man Revolutionized Astronomy.

See also:
/– The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
/– The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
/– The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.