Bristol Spaceplanes crowd-funding campaign

The UK’s Bristol Spaceplanes is running a crowd-funding campaign to raise £10,000 to fund design work and  to buildscale flying models for their suborbital Ascender spaceplane and the  SpaceCab and SpaceBus two-stage horizontal takeoff and landing systems: Bristol Spaceplanes, a Business project from Frome, Somerset Crowdfunding on Crowdfunder.co.uk

The Space Show this week – Dec.22.14

Guests and topics on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Dec. 22, 2014: 2:00-3:30PM PST (5:00-& 6:30 PM EST, 4:00-5:30 PM CST): GOLDEN OLDIE IN ADVANCE OF THE TOM OLSON 2014 YEAR IN REVIEW SHOW ON DEC. 30. The show today is Tom’s 2011 Space Year in review program. We will be replaying the 2011, 2012 and 2013 review shows prior to the live 2014 review. Take notes, see how accurate our discussion was year by year. When you see the program archived on the website and blog, it is ready for play.

2. Tuesday, Dec. 23, 2014:,7-8:30 PM PST (10-11:30 PM EST, 9-10:30 PM CST): We welcome TED SOUTHERN of Final Frontier Design, a commercial spacesuit company. Visit www.finalfrontierdesign.com.

3. Friday, Dec. 29, 2014, 9:30 -11 AM PST (12:30-2 PM EST; 11:30-1 PM CST): GOLDEN OLDIE IN ADVANCE OF THE TOM OLSON 2014 YEAR IN REVIEW SHOW ON DEC. 30. The show today is Tom’s 2012 Space Year in review program. We will be replaying the 2011, 2012 and 2013 review shows prior to the live 2014 review. Take notes, see how accurate our discussion was year by year. When you see the program archived on the website and blog, it is ready for play. .

4. Sunday, Dec.28, 2014, 9:30-11 AM PST (12:30-2 PM EST, 11:30 AM – 1 PM CST): OPEN LINES, out last one of 2014. All space and STEM calls welcome. First time callers welcome. Give us your 2015 space predictions.

See also:
/– The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
/– The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
/– The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

Space Art: Exhibition of Rauschenberg’s Apollo art + Nina Waisman joins SETI Institute art program

The Iris & B. Gerald Cantor Center for Visual Arts at Stanford University is presenting an exhibition of artist Robert Rauschenberg‘s works that he created in a NASA sponsored art program during the Apollo era:

Cantor Exhibition Presents Rarely Seen Art by Robert Rauschenberg Documenting First Manned Flight to the Moon: Loose in Some Real Tropics: Robert Rauschenberg’s “Stoned Moon” Projects, 1969–70 
December 20, 2014–March 16, 2015

Here is a review of the show: Art review: Robert Rauschenberg views the moon mission – SFGate.

Hot Shot - Lithograph by Robert Rauschenberg. This work was created to share and express the artist’s belief in the spiritual and physical improvement of life and the mind through curiosity.

Hot Shot” – Lithograph by Robert Rauschenberg. This work was created to share and express the artist’s belief in the spiritual and physical improvement of life and the mind through curiosity.

===

Artist Nina Waisman will join the SETI Institute’s Artist in Residence Program along with five other artists: Nina Waisman named artist-in-residence with SETI Institute – UTSanDiego.com –

I’m expecting that the research I engage in at SETI will blow my mind, and then re-settle it over time along paths and materials that will add up to provocative art experiences, based on what I’ve learned by dialoguing and/or collaborating with these esteemed scientists.”

SETI started the artist-in-residence program in 2011 with artist Charles Lindsay, a Guggenheim Fellow who remains with SETI as the artist-in-residence program leader. The effort has also involved artists Martin Wilner, Danny Bazo, Karl Yerkes and Marko Peljhan.

“SETI Institute’s research is motivated by our primal interest in other life and other beings,” said senior astronomer Seth Shostak. “It’s a very human endeavor. And so is art, after all it’s one of the things that distinguishes us from every other life form on this planet. Art is the one thing that’s unique about our world. The one thing that ET doesn’t already have. Well, she may have art, but not our kind of art! There’s a natural synchrony here.”