Category Archives: SpaceCasts

The Space Show this week – May.6.2019

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, May 6, 2019; 7-8:30 pm PDT (9-10:30 pm CDT, 10-11:30 pm EDT): Dr. Greg Autry returns to discuss our China space policy, ISDC 2019, and space policy and economics.

2. Tuesday, May 7, 2019; 7-8:30 pm PDT (9-10:30 pm CDT, 10-11:30 pm EDT): We welcome back Robert Zimmerman for news and space policy updates.

3. Wednesday, May 8, 2019; Hotel Mars. See Upcoming Show Menu and the website newsletter for details. Hotel Mars is pre-recorded by John Batchelor. It is archived on The Space Show site after John posts it on his website.

4. Friday, May 10, 2019; 9:30-11 am PDT (11:30 am -1 pm CDT, 12:30-2 pm EDT): We welcome back Dr. Madhu Thangavelu to discuss returning to the Moon and the Moon Track at ISDC 2019.

5. Sunday, May 12 2019; 12-1:30 pm PDT (3-4:30 pm EDT, 2-3:30 pm CDT): No show today in honor of Mother’s Day.

Recent shows:

** Fri, 05/03/2019Marcia S. Smith talked about “space policy, NASA budgets, returning to the Moon, lunar return costs and policy, the congressional budget process and more”.

** Tue, 04/30/2019Bruno Mombrinie, founder and lead designer of the electric short takeoff and landing airplane Metro Hop, talked about “flying cars for real”.

** Sun, 04/28/2019Michael Ciancone talked about his “‘Foreword to Spaceflight’ bibliography, 2019 IAC Washington, DC, Glenn Memorial Symposium, European Service Module for the Orion Program, service module integration, & more”.

See also:
* The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
* The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
* The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
The Space Show – David Livingston

The Space Show this week – April.29.2019

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, April 22, 2019; 2-3:30 pm PDT (4-5:30 pm CDT, 5-6:30 pm EDT): No show this week.

2. Tuesday, April 23, 2019; 7-8:30 pm PDT (9-10:30 pm CDT, 10-11:30 pm EDT): Bruno Mombrinie, founder and lead designer of the electric short takeoff and landing airplane Metro Hop, will talk about “flying cars for real”.

3. Wednesday, April 24, 2019: Hotel Mars. See Upcoming Show Menu and the website newsletter for details. Hotel Mars is pre-recorded by John Batchelor. It is archived on The Space Show site after John posts it on his website.

4. Friday, April 26, 2019; 9:30-11 am PDT; 11:30 am-1 pm CDT, 12:30-2 pm EDT): Marcia S. Smith will discuss NASA budgets and lunar program costs.

5. Sunday, April 28, 2019; 12 pm PDT (3:00 pm EDT, 2:00 pm CDT): Leonard David will talk about his new book, Moon Rush: The New Space Race. The interview will be followed by an Open Lines session.

Some recent shows:

** Sun, 04/28/2019 – 12:00Michael Ciancone talked aboout his spaceflight bibliography, the important 2018 IAC in Bremen, IAC 2019 in Washington, DC, and the Orion Service Module program with ESA.

** Fri, 04/26/2019Umberto Cavallaro talked about his book, The Race to the Moon Chronicled in Stamps, Postcards, and Postmarks: A Story of Puffery vs. the Pragmatic, and about “documenting early space history through stamps, USSR propaganda, US stamp approach and more”.

** Mon, 04/22/2019Daniel Suarez discussed his new science fiction novel, Delta-v, and “deep space mining, space economics, commercial space, policy and regulations, government space activities, risk taking, lunar return, Mars and much much more”.

** Tue, 04/23/2019Jeffrey Smith talked about his two recent booster series articles on The Space Review (Part 1 and Part 2) and “also talked rocket and booster history, returning to the Moon and more”.

See also:
* The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
* The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
* The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
The Space Show – David Livingston

 

Videos: “Space to Ground” ISS report – April.26.2019

A new episode of NASA’s weekly Space to Ground report on activities related to the International Space Station:

** The CRS-17 science and technology payloads set to go to the ISS next week aboard a SpaceX Cargo Dragon:

** Living and Working in Space: Microbes

As we search beyond Earth, microbes play a key role in the space environment. Researchers analyze single celled organisms like bacteria and fungi to help uncover important facts that will support deep-space missions. Along with understanding how microbes adapt and react on the International Space Station, scientist stress the importance of planetary protection. The goal of protecting Earth from potentially harmful microbes are important to human survival and the universe at large.

** Expedition 59 Inteviews with Army News Service KCTS and KUOW Radio April 24, 2019:

====

Videos: TMRO Orbit 12.14 – “How we see more of the Universe”

The latest episode of the TMRO.tv Space webcast program:

This week we bring on Dr. Jielai Zhang to talk about Dragonfly Telephoto Array, its unique capabilities, why it was needed and what they have found or hope to find out so far. We also cover the role of astronomy as a gateway field to STEM and the West African International Summer School for Young Astronomers program.

TMRO’s latest space news report:

====

Galaxy Girls: 50 Amazing Stories of Women in Space.

The Space Show this week – April.22.2019

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, April 22, 2019; 2-3:30 pm PDT (4-5:30 pm CDT, 5-6:30 pm EDT): Daniel Suarez, author of Delta-v, an excellent novel.

2. Tuesday, April 23, 2019; 7-8:30 pm PDT (9-10:30 pm CDT, 10-11:30 pm EDT): We welcome back Jeffrey Smith to discuss his recent booster series articles on The Space Review.

3. Wednesday, April 24, 2019: Hotel Mars. See Upcoming Show Menu and the website newsletter for details. Hotel Mars is pre-recorded by John Batchelor. It is archived on The Space Show site after John posts it on his website.

4. Friday, April 26, 2019; 9:30-11 am PDT; 11:30 am-1 pm CDT, 12:30-2 pm EDT): We welcome Dr. Umberto Cavallaro regarding his excellent, unique and most interesting book, The Race to the Moon Chronicled in Stamps, Postcards, and Postmarks: A Story of Puffery vs. the Pragmatic.

5. Sunday, April 28, 2019; 12 pm PDT (3:00 pm EDT, 2:00 pm CDT): We welcome back Michael Ciancone to discuss his spaceflight bibliography, the important 2018 IAC in Bremen, IAC 2019 in Washington, DC, and the Orion Service Module program with ESA.

Some recent shows:

** Tue, 04/16/2019 – David Livingston led a discussion among listeners about “the 2024 lunar timetable, FH [Falcon Heavy] barge recovery, Griffith Observatory public interest”.

** Sun, 04/14/2019Jay Wittner talked about “Integrated Space Plan, human spaceflight development now and into the future, [and] why The Space Plan and human spaceflight is essential”.

** Fri, 04/12/2019Kim Holder talked about “Moonwards.com news and update. Returning to the Moon, the Moon as a virtual world and more”.

** Tue, 04/09/2019Dr. Mike Gruntman gave a “historical analysis of Tyuratam Missile Range to the Baikonur Cosmodrome, aerospace education, returning to the Moon, inspiration, Elon Musk, SpaceX, Jeff Bezos and much more”.

See also:
* The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
* The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
* The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
The Space Show – David Livingston