Category Archives: SpaceCasts

The Space Show this week – Oct.23.2017

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Oct.23, 2017: 2-3:30 pm PDT (5-6:30 pm EDT, 4-5:30 pm CDT): We welcome KIRA BLACKWELL of NASA iTech. [“NASA iTech is a unique initiative to find innovative ideas that address critical problems here on Earth that also hold great potential to solve critical technology challenges in future space exploration.”]

2. Tuesday, Oct. 24 2017: 7-8:30 pm PDT, 10-11:30 pm EDT, 9-10:30 pm CDT: We welcome back PADDY NEWMANN of Newmann Space in Australia. [“The Neumann Drive is a revolutionary, patented solar-electric ion drive. It uses a pulsed cathodic arc technology, paired with a solid fuel rod, which generates more specific impulse than NASA’s HIPEP thruster. “]

3. Wednesday, Oct. 25, 2017: Hotel Mars. See Upcoming Show Menu and the website newsletter for details. Hotel Mars is pre-recorded by John Batchelor. It is archived on The Space Show site after John posts it on his website.

4. Friday, Oct. 27, 2017; 9:30 am -11 am PDT, (12:30 -2 pm EDT; 11:30 am -1 pm CDT): We welcome DR. JAMES SCHWARTZ to discuss his work regarding the development of space as compared to the development of the American frontier. See the blog for the URL for Dr. Schwartz’s paper on the subject.

5. Sunday, Oct. 29, 2017: 12-1:30 pm OPEN LINES. All space, STEM, STEAM, and first time callers welcome. You can talk about the issues and topics you want to talk about.

See also:
* The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
* The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
* The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
David Livingston

Videos: TMRO Orbit 10.39 – Colonizing our solar system in one lifetime

The latest TMRO.tv live webcast episode is now available in the archive: Colonizing our solar system in one lifetime – Orbit 10.39 – TMRO

We are joined by John Amabile author of, “Changing the Worlds” to talk about his plan to colonize the solar system in one lifetime. More than just colonization, also terraforming plants like Venus and Mars.

Launches and space news topics covered:

Atlas V Launches NROL-52
Huge Lunar Lavatube Found
Blue Origin Test Fires Largest Methane Rocket Engine
A New Round of Results From Cassini

TMRO is viewer supported:

TMRO:Space is a crowd funded show. If you like this episode consider contributing to help us to continue to improve. Head over to http://www.patreon.com/tmro for information plus our all new goals and reward levels.

A couple of recent TMRO short video reports:

** SpacePod: 2 EVA’s in 5 days

US Astronauts at the International Space Station recently conducted 2 spacewalks within 5 days to perform repairs on the stations robotic arm and do several other maintenance tasks.

** SpacePod: We Found Some of the Missing Universe

Computer modeling we do of our Universe suggested that half of the visible matter in the Universe was “missing”, we couldn’t account for the discrepancy between what’s observed in our Universe and what’s modeled in computers using the laws of physics our Universe is governed by. Does that mean that our physics is incorrect, or were we just looking in all the wrong places? Turns out, we were looking in the wrong places.

 

====

Videos: “Space to Ground” ISS report – Oct.20.2017

Here is the latest Space to Ground report from NASA on activities related to the International Space Station:

** A podcast with ISS crewmembers in a talk about photography from space:

“Houston We Have a Podcast” streamed live on NASA TV and Facebook Live on October 13, 2017. Hosts Gary Jordan and Megan Sumner talk about astronaut photography with Expedition 53 crewmembers Randy “Komrade” Bresnik, Paolo Nespoli, Joe Acaba, and Mark “Sabot” Vande Hei. The crewmembers answer questions submitted on Facebook Live.

** There have been three spacewalks this month at the station including one today:

… Expedition 53 Commander Randy Bresnik and Flight Engineer Joe Acaba of NASA conducted a spacewalk Oct. 20 to continue upgrades to and maintenance of station hardware. It was the third spacewalk in two weeks for Expedition 53 crewmembers outside the Quest airlock. During the excursion, Bresnik and Acaba replaced a failed camera light on the new Latching End Effector “hand” on the Canadarm2 robotic arm, installed a new high definition camera on the starboard truss of the complex, replaced a fuse on the Dextre Special Dexterous Manipulator attachment for the arm and removed thermal blankets from two spare electrical routing units for future robotic replacement work, if required. It was the fifth spacewalk in Bresnik’s career and the third for Acaba.

 

====

The Space Show this week – Oct.16.2017

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Oct. 16, 2017; 2-3:30 pm PDT (4-5:30 pm CDT, 5-6:30 pm EDT); We welcome back DENNIS WINGO. The theme for the program is that for space, risk is a four letter word.

2. Tuesday, Oct. 17, 2017; 7-8:30 pm PDT (9-10:30 pm CDT, 10-11:30 pm EDT) : We welcome back NICK NIELSEN to the show. Nick will be talking about settling the Moon, cultural history and issues. Check out his 2017 Starship Congress talk as I have posted the URL for it on the blog.

3. Wednesday, Oct. 18, 2017 : Hotel Mars with John Batchelor, Dr. David Livingston. See upcoming show menu on the website for details. Note that this is a pre-recorded session.

4. Friday, Oct. 20, 2017: 9:30-11 am PDT, (12:30-2 pm EDT; 11:30 am-1 pm CDT): We welcome back DR. HAYM BENAROYA. Haym will be discussing lunar development and more.

5. Sunday, Oct. 22, 2017: 12-1:30 pm PDT (3-4:30 pm EDT, 2-3:30 5 pm CDT): We welcome back KERI KRUKA regarding the upcoming new Raw Science Film Festival to be held in early January in Santa Barbara, CA.

See also:
* The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
* The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
* The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
David Livingston

Videos: “Space to Ground” ISS report – Oct.13.2017

Here is this week’s Space to Ground report from NASA on activities related to the International Space Station:

Here is a new NASA video about food on the station:

This photo taken during a spacewalk this week gives a sense of the scale of the ISS – Mark T. Vande Hei on Twitter:

“My 2nd #spacewalk is complete for Expedition 53! Can you find the two people working outside in this picture?”

====