Category Archives: Activism

Space policy roundup – Nov.4.2019

A sampling of links to recent space policy, politics, and government (US and international) related space news and resource items that I found of interest (find previous space policy roundups here):

Webcasts:

** Space Policy Edition: How a Report Can Move Mountains | The Planetary Society

How can a simple report—just words on a page—lead to creation of a spacecraft? We explore how a 2019 report on the need for a dedicated, space-based telescope to find threatening near-Earth asteroids motivated NASA to pursue that very mission. We speak with Dr. Jay Melosh, planetary scientist and chair of the National Academies committee behind that report, on how it came together and how the process works behind the scenes. We also check on NASA’s budget process in Congress and news from the International Astronautical Congress in Washington, D.C.

** November 1, 2019 Zimmerman/Batchelor podcast | Behind The Black

** Fri, 11/01/2019Michael Mealling and and Steven Jorgenson discuss Starbridge Venture Capital and commercial space investments.

** Hotel Mars – Wed, 10/30/2019 with John Batchelor, Dr. David LivingstonWilliam Harwood of CBS News talks about NASA’s Artemis lunar program.

** IAC 2019 – WeMartians Podcast

The 70th International Astronautical Congress descended on Washington, DC this week, with 6300 delegates from around the world coming together to talk about space technology, policy and more. Jake is on site to report on the happenings, and connected with a range of people on robotic missions and human architectures.

Guests include Walter Cugno from Thales Alenia Space, Khaled Ali Al Hashmi from the United Arab Emirates Space Agency, and Gary Napier from Lockheed Martin.

==

== Amazon Ad ==

See You In Orbit?: Our Dream Of Spaceflight

The Space Show this week – Nov.4.2019

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Nov. 4, 2019; 2 pm PST (4 pm CST, 5 pm EST) We welcome Dr. Melissa Trainer to discuss the Mars 2020 project.

2. Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019; 7-8:30 pm PST (9-10:30 pm CST; 10-11:30 pm EST): We welcome Dr. Hal Doiron and Dr. Tom Wysmuller, retired NASA Apollo engineers & scientists, now part of the project known as The Right Climate Stuff, to speak about climate, space, NASA and more.

3. Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2019; Pre-recorded Hotel Mars Program with John Batchelor. See Upcoming Show on The Space Show website for details.

4. Friday, Nov. 8, 2019; 9:30-11 am PST (11:30 am-1 pm CST, 12:30-2 pm EST): We welcome Dr. Ella Atkins, Professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Michigan, where she is director of the Autonomous Aerospace Systems (A2SYS) Lab.

5. Sunday, Nov. 10, 2019; 12-1:30 pm PST (3-4:30 pm EST, 2-3:30 pm CST): We welcome back Dr. Christopher Morrison, and Dr. Marcelo Vazquez to discuss human spaceflight radiation concerns and medical research tests for simulating human radiation exposure in space.

Some recent shows:

** Sun, 11/03/2019Adam Hadhazy talked about his article, Homo sapiens astronauta in Aerospace America, which looks at modifying genes to better adapt humans to spaceflight.

** Fri, 11/01/2019Michael Mealling and and Steven Jorgenson discuss Starbridge Venture Capital and commercial space investments.

** Hotel Mars – Wed, 10/30/2019 with John Batchelor, Dr. David LivingstonWilliam Harwood of CBS News talks about NASA’s Artemis lunar program.

** Tue, 10/29/2019Dr. Umair Siddiqui discussed the Phase Four “radio frequency plasma thruster, plasma science, Hall thrusters, LEO, comsats, mega satellite constellations and more”.

** Mon, 10/28/2019 –  Anthony Longman discussed “his expandable rotating shielded space habitats”.

See also:
* The Space Show Archives
* The Space Show Newsletter
* The Space Show Shop

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
The Space Show – David Livingston

== Amazon Ad ==

Moon: An Illustrated History:
From Ancient Myths to the Colonies of Tomorrow)

Space policy roundup – Nov.1.2019

A sampling of links to recent space policy, politics, and government (US and international) related space news and resource items that I found of interest (find previous space policy roundups here):

Webcasts

** Commercial Crew Presentation at NASA NAC Meeting (10/30/2019) – NASA Spaceflight

Kathy Lueders, the Program Manager for NASA’s Commercial Crew Program, provides an update at the Oct. 30 NAC meeting on the status of Boeing’s Starliner and SpaceX’s Crew Dragon. The two spacecraft will carry astronauts to the Space Station.

** Debate on NASA’s Proposed Gateway – 22nd Annual International Mars Society Conference

Debate on NASA’s proposed Lunar Orbital Gateway space station and the possible approaches to America’s return to the Moon.
Dr. Robert Zubrin – President, The Mars Society
Greg Autry – Director, SoCal Commercial Spaceflight Center

** Hotel Mars – Wed, 10/30/2019 with John Batchelor, Dr. David LivingstonWilliam Harwood of CBS News talks about NASA’s Artemis lunar program.

** October 29, 2019 Zimmerman/Batchelor podcast | Behind The Black

==

== Amazon Ad ==

Moon Rush: The New Space Race

The Space Show this week – Oct.29.2019

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Oct. 28, 2019; 7 pm PDT (9 pm CDT, 10 pm EDT): We welcome Anthony Longman to the show to discuss his concept for rotating space stations.

2. Tuesday, Oct. 29, 2019; 7-8:30 pm PDT (9-10:30 pm CDT, 10-11:30 pm EDT): We welcome Dr. Umair Siddiqui to discuss the new plasma propulsion system being designed by his company, Phase Four.

3. Wednesday, Oct. 30, 2019; Pre-recorded Hotel Mars Program with John Batchelor. See Upcoming Show on The Space Show website for details.

Note that there is no Thursday program this week.

4. Friday, Nov. 1, 2019; 9:30-11 am PDT (11:30 am -1 pm CDT, 12:30-2 pm EDT): We welcome back Michael Mealling with Steven Jorgenson to discuss commercial space investment and their investment fund.

5. Sunday, Nov. 3, 2019; 12-1:30 pm PDT (3-4:30 pm EDT, 2-3:30 pm CDT): We welcome Adam Hadhazy to discuss his article, Homo sapiens astronauta in Aerospace America, on gene modification for human spaceflight.

Some recent shows:

** Sun, 10/27/2019 – David Livingston led a discussion with listeners of an array of space issues.

** Fri, 10/25/2019Don Pickering, CEO of Olis Robotics, discussed AI and robotics for spaceflight.

** Thu, 10/24/2019Suzana Bianco discussed “Space architecture and her concept designs for free space habitats and stations”. See the slides from her SSI conference presentation: New Venice – set 2019 (pdf).

** Hotel Mars – Wed, 10/23/2019 with John Batchelor & Dr. David Livingston – CBS News space correspondent William Harwood talked about “NASA’s ISS all-female spacewalk to replace the power controller for the station”.

See also:
* The Space Show Archives
* The Space Show Newsletter
* The Space Show Shop

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
The Space Show – David Livingston

== Amazon Ad ==

Safe Is Not an Option

Space policy roundup – Oct.28.2019

A sampling of links to recent space policy, politics, and government (US and international) related space news and resource items that I found of interest (find previous space policy roundups here):

Webcasts

** Space Policy Edition: Happy Fiscal New Year! | The Planetary Society

October 1st kicked off federal fiscal year 2020—a day that should also have kicked off a new budget for NASA. But Congress has not funded the space agency yet, instead passing a temporary stopgap measure to keep the government open until November 21st. Brendan Curry, The Planetary Society’s Chief of D.C. Operations, joins the show to discuss the latest political developments in Washington, good news for planetary defense, and how the funding delay could spell trouble for the space agency’s 2024 lunar goal.

** Space Innovations So Incredible, They Just Might Work | The Planetary Society

The NASA Innovative Advanced Concepts program gathers its “fellows” each year to share what they’ve learned about some of the most fascinating science and engineering imaginable. Mat Kaplan visits with Program Executive Jason Derleth and seven leaders of funded studies. Astronaut Mae Jemison also attended and returns to Planetary Radio. Cosmonaut Alexei Leonov passed away last week at 85. He is remembered and praised by space historian John Logsdon. All this, headlines from The Downlink, and Bruce Betts!

** The Space Show – Sun, 10/27/2019 – David Livingston led a discussion with listeners of an array of space issues.

** Hotel Mars – Wed, 10/23/2019 with John Batchelor & Dr. David Livingston – CBS News space correspondent William Harwood talked about “NASA’s ISS all-female spacewalk to replace the power controller for the station”.

** October 25, 2019 Zimmerman/Batchelor podcast | Behind The Black

== Amazon Ad ==

Fire in the Sky:
Cosmic Collisions, Killer Asteroids, and
the Race to Defend Earth