The Space Show this week – May.25.15

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, May 25, 2015: 2-3:30 PM PDT (5-6:30 PM EDT; 4-5:30 PM CDT): No show today due to the Memorial Day Holiday.

2. Tuesday, May 26, 2015:,7-8:30 PM PDT (10-11:30 PM EST, 9-10:30 PM CDT): We welcome DR. MATTHEW MOYNIHAN regarding Polywell and fusion energy.

3. Friday, May 29, 2015; 9:30 -11 AM PDT (12:30-2 PM EDT; 11:30-1 PM CDT):We welcome DR. IAN CRAWFORD from the UK, Dr. Haym Benaroya, and Dr. John Jurist to discuss Dr. Crawford’s recent paper on lunar resources, “Lunar Resources: A Review” I will upload a copy of this paper to The Space Show blog on Thursday in advance of this program. .

4. Sunday, May 31, 2015: 12-1:30 PM PDT (3-4:30 PM EDT, 2-3:30 PM CDT): OPEN LINES. All space, STEM topics welcome as are first time callers.

See also:
/– The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
/– The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
/– The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

Video: A sunset on the Red Planet

Via  Emily Lakdawalla comes this wonderful view  (partly-real, party-simulated) of a sunset on Mars in true time. And it has a very appropriate soundtrack: Real-time sunset on Mars –  The Planetary Society –

On its 956th sol (day) on Mars, the rover Curiosity used its Mastcam to image a stunning sequence of the Sun (Sol) setting over the local horizon at Gale Crater, where it has been exploring since August 2012. The individual images taken by Curiosity covered a period of about 6 minutes. The sequence of images was too intermittent to make smooth movie of the sunset on its own. Using the foreground and horizon from one image and then recreating the sky and Sun in Photoshop, Glen Nagle used Adobe Premier to create a near real-time sunset sequence as if you could stand on Mars and see it for yourself. With the addition of a little ‘lens flare’ and the haunting music ‘Lux Aeterna’ by György Ligeti, this imagining of a sunset on Mars evokes a sense of awe and reverence.

NASA / JPL / MSSS / Glen Nagle

Videos: TMRO Space Pod reports on KSC mods, Comet hitchhiking, X-15 and X-37B, & animal astros

More TMRO.tv Space Pod short reports.

TMRO Space Pods are crowd funded shows. If you like this episode consider contributing to help us to continue to improve. Head over tohttp://www.patreon.com/spacepod for information, goals and reward levels. Don’t forget to check out our weekly live show campaign as well over at http://www.patreon.com/tmro

* NASA is Maximizing Kennedy Space Center, and an update on the Progress Failure – Space Pod 05/14/15

Space Mike gives an update on the failed Progress 27-M resupply ship as well as an innovative plan by NASA to maximize launches from Kennedy Space Center.

* Hitchhiking On A Comet – Space Pod 05/18/15

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy may want to add a chapter on how to catch a ride on a comet. Ariel Waldman talks about the Comet Hitchhiker, one of the projects to emerge from NASA Innovative Advanced Concepts (NIAC), a program dedicated to turning science fiction into science fact.

* Secrets of the X-37B Revealed – SpacePod 05/19/15

Space Mike talks about the upcoming fourth flight of the X-37B unmanned spaceplane, and some of the details that have emerged about the mission and its payloads.

*Animal Astronauts: A brief history of animal spaceflight – Space Pod 05/20/15

Lisa Stojanovski talks about how animal astronauts helped us advance human spaceflight. Animal astronauts also helped us learn how fish swim in space, how jellyfish sense gravity and that cockroaches can give birth in space!

Spaceplanes Part 3: The X-15 – Space Pod 05/21/15

Images from the making of “The Martian”

The making of Andrew Weir’s best-seller, The Martian into a movie by the director Ridley Scott is well underway. Here are some snapshots from the movie set. Matt Damon stars as NASA astronaut Mark Watney who struggles to survive on the Red Planet after his expedition believes he has been killed by a sudden dust storm and leaves him behind when they evacuate.