Category Archives: Activism

The Space Show this week – Nov.11.2019

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Nov. 11, 2019; 7-8:30 pm PST (9-10:30 pm CST, 10-11:30 pm EST) No program this week.

2. Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019; 7-8:30 pm PST (9-10:30 pm CST, 10-11:30 pm EST): We welcome back we Jonathan Goff of Altius Space Systems.

3. Wednesday, Nov. 13, 2019: Hotel Mars. See Upcoming Show Menu and the website newsletter for details. Hotel Mars is pre-recorded by John Batchelor. It is archived on The Space Show site after John posts it on his website.

4. Friday, Nov. 15, 2019; 9:30-11 am PST (11:30 am -1 pm CST; 12:30-2 pm EST): We welcome back Dr. Alan Stern for New Horizons updates and much more.

5. Sunday, Nov. 17, 2019; 12-1:30 pm PST (3-4:30 pm EST, 2-3:30 pm CST): We welcome back Casey Dreier of the Planetary Society for Apollo history work and other new information.

Some recent shows:

** Sun, 11/10/2019Dr. Christopher Morrison and Dr. Marcelo Vazquez discussed space radiation issues.

** Fri, 11/08/2019Dr. Ella Atkins ( Prof.  at U. of Michigan’s Aerospace Engineering Dept., director of the Autonomous Aerospace Systems (A2SYS) Lab and is Assoc. Dir. of the Robotics Institute) discussed “IEEE Robotics & Automation, leveraging tech for space for the future, autonomous terrestrial, air & space vehicles, regulatory oversight, public perceptions/concerns, human spaceflight and more”.

** Tue, 11/05/2019Dr. Hal Doiron and Tom Wysmuller discussed the “climate science work by the Right Climate Stuff Group (www.therightclimatestuff.com) which consists of retired NASA Apollo veterans”.

** Mon, 11/04/2019Dr. Melissa Trainer of NASA Goddard gave  a “comprehensive look at the planned NASA Dragonfly Mission to Titan to look for signs of life and more”.

See also:
* The Space Show Archives
* The Space Show Newsletter
* The Space Show Shop

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
The Space Show – David Livingston

== Amazon Ad ==

Come Fly with Us: NASA’s Payload Specialist Program
(Outward Odyssey: A People’s History of Spaceflight)

Space policy roundup – Nov.11.2019

A sampling of links to recent space policy, politics, and government (US and international) related space news and resource items that I found of interest (find previous space policy roundups here):

Webcasts:

** The Space Show – Fri, 11/08/2019Dr. Ella Atkins ( Professor in the University of Michigan’s Aerospace Engineering Department where she directs the Autonomous Aerospace Systems (A2SYS) Lab and is Associate Director of the Robotics Institute) talked about “IEEE Robotics & Automation, leveraging tech for space for the future, autonomous terrestrial, air & space vehicles, regulatory oversight, public perceptions/concerns, human spaceflight and more”.

** The Space Show – Tue, 11/05/2019Dr. Hal Doiron and Tom Wysmuller discussed the “climate science work by the Right Climate Stuff Group (www.therightclimatestuff.com) which consists of retired NASA Apollo veterans”.

** The Space Show – Mon, 11/04/2019Dr. Melissa Trainer of NASA Goddard gave  a “comprehensive look at the planned NASA Dragonfly Mission to Titan to look for signs of life and more”.

==

====

The Race to the Moon Chronicled in Stamps, Postcards, and Postmarks:
A Story of Puffery vs. the Pragmatic (Springer Praxis Books)

Space policy roundup – Nov.4.2019

A sampling of links to recent space policy, politics, and government (US and international) related space news and resource items that I found of interest (find previous space policy roundups here):

Webcasts:

** Space Policy Edition: How a Report Can Move Mountains | The Planetary Society

How can a simple report—just words on a page—lead to creation of a spacecraft? We explore how a 2019 report on the need for a dedicated, space-based telescope to find threatening near-Earth asteroids motivated NASA to pursue that very mission. We speak with Dr. Jay Melosh, planetary scientist and chair of the National Academies committee behind that report, on how it came together and how the process works behind the scenes. We also check on NASA’s budget process in Congress and news from the International Astronautical Congress in Washington, D.C.

** November 1, 2019 Zimmerman/Batchelor podcast | Behind The Black

** Fri, 11/01/2019Michael Mealling and and Steven Jorgenson discuss Starbridge Venture Capital and commercial space investments.

** Hotel Mars – Wed, 10/30/2019 with John Batchelor, Dr. David LivingstonWilliam Harwood of CBS News talks about NASA’s Artemis lunar program.

** IAC 2019 – WeMartians Podcast

The 70th International Astronautical Congress descended on Washington, DC this week, with 6300 delegates from around the world coming together to talk about space technology, policy and more. Jake is on site to report on the happenings, and connected with a range of people on robotic missions and human architectures.

Guests include Walter Cugno from Thales Alenia Space, Khaled Ali Al Hashmi from the United Arab Emirates Space Agency, and Gary Napier from Lockheed Martin.

==

== Amazon Ad ==

See You In Orbit?: Our Dream Of Spaceflight

The Space Show this week – Nov.4.2019

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Nov. 4, 2019; 2 pm PST (4 pm CST, 5 pm EST) We welcome Dr. Melissa Trainer to discuss the Mars 2020 project.

2. Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2019; 7-8:30 pm PST (9-10:30 pm CST; 10-11:30 pm EST): We welcome Dr. Hal Doiron and Dr. Tom Wysmuller, retired NASA Apollo engineers & scientists, now part of the project known as The Right Climate Stuff, to speak about climate, space, NASA and more.

3. Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2019; Pre-recorded Hotel Mars Program with John Batchelor. See Upcoming Show on The Space Show website for details.

4. Friday, Nov. 8, 2019; 9:30-11 am PST (11:30 am-1 pm CST, 12:30-2 pm EST): We welcome Dr. Ella Atkins, Professor in the Department of Aerospace Engineering at the University of Michigan, where she is director of the Autonomous Aerospace Systems (A2SYS) Lab.

5. Sunday, Nov. 10, 2019; 12-1:30 pm PST (3-4:30 pm EST, 2-3:30 pm CST): We welcome back Dr. Christopher Morrison, and Dr. Marcelo Vazquez to discuss human spaceflight radiation concerns and medical research tests for simulating human radiation exposure in space.

Some recent shows:

** Sun, 11/03/2019Adam Hadhazy talked about his article, Homo sapiens astronauta in Aerospace America, which looks at modifying genes to better adapt humans to spaceflight.

** Fri, 11/01/2019Michael Mealling and and Steven Jorgenson discuss Starbridge Venture Capital and commercial space investments.

** Hotel Mars – Wed, 10/30/2019 with John Batchelor, Dr. David LivingstonWilliam Harwood of CBS News talks about NASA’s Artemis lunar program.

** Tue, 10/29/2019Dr. Umair Siddiqui discussed the Phase Four “radio frequency plasma thruster, plasma science, Hall thrusters, LEO, comsats, mega satellite constellations and more”.

** Mon, 10/28/2019 –  Anthony Longman discussed “his expandable rotating shielded space habitats”.

See also:
* The Space Show Archives
* The Space Show Newsletter
* The Space Show Shop

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
The Space Show – David Livingston

== Amazon Ad ==

Moon: An Illustrated History:
From Ancient Myths to the Colonies of Tomorrow)

Space policy roundup – Nov.1.2019

A sampling of links to recent space policy, politics, and government (US and international) related space news and resource items that I found of interest (find previous space policy roundups here):

Webcasts

** Commercial Crew Presentation at NASA NAC Meeting (10/30/2019) – NASA Spaceflight

Kathy Lueders, the Program Manager for NASA’s Commercial Crew Program, provides an update at the Oct. 30 NAC meeting on the status of Boeing’s Starliner and SpaceX’s Crew Dragon. The two spacecraft will carry astronauts to the Space Station.

** Debate on NASA’s Proposed Gateway – 22nd Annual International Mars Society Conference

Debate on NASA’s proposed Lunar Orbital Gateway space station and the possible approaches to America’s return to the Moon.
Dr. Robert Zubrin – President, The Mars Society
Greg Autry – Director, SoCal Commercial Spaceflight Center

** Hotel Mars – Wed, 10/30/2019 with John Batchelor, Dr. David LivingstonWilliam Harwood of CBS News talks about NASA’s Artemis lunar program.

** October 29, 2019 Zimmerman/Batchelor podcast | Behind The Black

==

== Amazon Ad ==

Moon Rush: The New Space Race