Category Archives: Activism

Bob Zimmerman on The Space Show and on John Batchelor Show

Bob Zimmerman on the Space Show on Tuesday discussed a range of recent space news, rocket company updates, and more: Robert (Bob) Zimmerman, Tuesday, 3-26-13 – Thespaceshow’s Blog.

And on the John Batchelor radio program  on Tuesday, he talked about the following topics:

Segment 1:
Space and NASA
Dragon is on its way home. (Landing momentarily.)
Engine tests for SpaceShipTwo a success.
How big will Stratolaunch be? Big, very big!
NASA suspends all outreach and education efforts under sequestration.

He will also be on the Batchelor program tonight (12:30 am) and on Thursday evening. In tonight’s show they will discuss:

Science:
Curiosity back to full science, releases a new panorama.
Comet ISON not brightening as much as hoped.
The weird polar vortexes of Venus.

British Interplanetary Society history – part 2

Here is the second installment of Kelvin Long’s historical review of the British Interplanetary Society, one of the oldest space advocacy organizations (see Part 1 here) : The British Interplanetary Society at 80 Years: Part II – Centauri Dreams.

He focused on Project Daedalus, a study sponsored by the BIS in the 1970s that attempted to design a realistic interstellar transport.

Uwingu contest for naming closest known exoplanet

Uwingu is sponsoring a contest to suggest a name for the nearest exoplanet found so far:  A public name for ‘Bb’: Opening the naming of the closest planet to our solar system to the people of Earth! – Uwingu

Astronomers have discovered evidence for thousands of planets orbiting distant stars. But all of these planets have only technical names, such as ’Alpha Centauri Bb,’ not memorable ones like the planets in our own solar system.

Uwingu is announcing a contest for the people of Earth to name the closest known exoplanet (planet around another star)!

Anyone can nominate a name—or as many names as you like. The name with the highest number of votes for it on April 15th will be announced as the winner! And what’s more, we’ll be giving out a series of prizes to the namers (that’s you!) of any name that gets at least 100 votes, names that get 1,000 votes, names that get 10,000 votes, and the top vote getter of all.

During the competition you’ll need to work your magic to encourage votes from your social networks, blog followers, friends, family, employers…everyone! And its for a great cause—Uwingu is creating The Uwingu Fund to accelerate space research and education, and we’re already making grants.

Get Started!

Continue..

More about the program and the plan to send some of the money raised to support NASA outreach projects:

The Space Show this week

The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, March 25, 2013: 2-3:30 PM PDT (5-6:30 PM EDT, 4-5:30 PM CDT): We welcome MICHAEL PAUL of the Penn State Lunar Lion – A Google Lunar X PRIZE Team, to discuss their GLXP entry.

2. Tuesday, March 26, 2013, 7-8:30 PM PDT (10-11:30 PM EDT, 9-10:30 PM CDT): We welcome BOB ZIMMERMAN back to the show for space news updates and more.

3. Friday, March 29, 2013:, 9:30-11 AM PDT (12:30-2 PM EDT, 11;30 AM-1 PM CDT). We welcome DR. BRUCE CORDELL back to the show to discuss the latest regarding his Maslow Window research applicable to our space program now and in the future.

4. Sunday, March 31, 2013, 12-1:30 PM PDT, 3-4:30 PM EDT, 2-3:30 PM CDT. There will be no Space Show today due to Easter Sunday.

See also:
/– The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
/– The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
/– The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.