Category Archives: Activism

More on public view of Mars missions + Update on Senate space policy committees

Here are more discussions of that survey of public views about human missions to Mars that I mentioned here earlier:

Trying to judge what such a poll means is problematic because the US public has always expressed conflicting views on space. A majority have a good feeling about it and support it in a general manner but they don’t think about space often and don’t see it, especially human spaceflight, has having any direct impact on them. When asked to rank space spending vs other priorities it is always at the bottom  of the list for most people.

I prefer to focus on the 10-15% of the public who always express very strong interest and support for spaceflight in such polls. Those 30-45 million people are more than enough to build a spacefaring community and industry. They just need to see that human spaceflight is affordable and in the coming years I expect that the burgeoning commercial spaceflight industry will prove that to be true.

===

An update on the membership of two Senate committees with big influence on NASA and US space policies: Senate committees get organized; Nelson and Cruz control space subcommittee – Space Politics

NSS Kickstarter campaign in final stretch

Here is the latest on the National Space Society‘s Kickstarter campaign to fund production of a top quality film to promote space development.

NSS Kickstarter Stretches for the Stars – Three Days Left!

As the NSS Kickstarter campaign enters its final days and hours we are stretching for the next goals for the campaign. We are in sight of the $45,000 goal which will allow for a short trailer, and within reach of the $55,000 goal where copies will be sent to our elected representatives in Washington, D.C. and around the country. Developments in our Nation’s Capital illustrate that, now more than ever, our leaders need to understand the importance of the space industry to the future of the U.S.

Your support in the final stretch is critical.

  • If you’ve supported the campaign, please consider reaching for the next support level.
  • If you haven’t told your friends and colleagues, please share your excitement for space with them and encourage them to check it out and support our space future.
  • Post a message on your Facebook, Twitter and other social media accounts to let everyone know that now is the time to show their support.

Together we can make this happen!

As an exciting new inducement, we can now offer copies of the music CD “To Touch the Stars: A Musical Celebration of Space Exploration”, co-produced by NSS and The Mars Society, to donors at the $250 level and above.

Time is running out to do your part!

The Space Show this week

The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Feb. 11, 2013, 2-3:30 PM PST (5-6:30 PM EST, 4-5:30 PM CST): We welcome back DR. JIM WERTZ of Microcosm, Inc. Our discussion will focus on Reinventing Space — Methods for Dramatically Reducing Space Mission Cost and Schedule, including a USC graduate course, the AIAA course in May, and a new joint Microcosm/USC Reinventing Space Project.

2. Tuesday, Feb. 12, 2013 7-8:30 PM PST (10-11:30 PM EST, 9-10:30 PM CST): We welcome DR. SEAN CASEY for <a href=”http://www.svsc.org/” target=”_d”>Silicon Valley Space Center</a> updates.

3. Friday, Feb. 15, 2013, 9:30-11 AM PST (11:30- 1 PM CST, 12:30PM-2:00 PM EST): No show today.

WEBINAR 4. Sunday, Feb. 17, 2013, 1-3 PM PST (4-6 PM EST, 3-5 PM CST). We welcome back DR. HAYM BENAROYA for a webinar addressing the engineering needed for space infrastructure. Dr. Benaroya will take us behind the scenes to show and explain to us that which is not in plain sight! This webinar will be co-hosted by DR. JOHN JURIST. On the Saturday prior to this webinar, I will post Dr. Benraoya’s presentation material on The Space Show Blog, http://thespaceshow.wordpress.com. You can watch the webinar on The Space Show UStream site, www.ustream.tv/channel/the-space-show.

See also:
/– The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
/– The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
/– The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.aa