Astronaut panel to discuss the Overview Effect on a Google+ Hangout, March 5th

zero2infinity is hosting a Google+ hangout event on Tuesday, Mar 5th, 3:00 pm EST – 3:30 pm: The overview effect: an Astronaut panel with zero2infinity – Google+

Join our astronaut panel live on google+ hangout! Ron Garan, Michael Lopez-Alegria and Jean-Francois Clervoy will hang out and speak about the perspective they gained in orbit. Moderated by Annelie Schoenmaker from zero2infinity.

Space law: Wayne White interview + Space law roundup + Univ. Miss. space law video

On the Sunday Space Show space law expert Wayne White talked about space real property rights, salvage law and mining law issues: Wayne White, Sunday, 3-3-13 – Thespaceshow’s Blog.

===

Res Communis post the latest collection of space and aviation law, regulation and policy links: Library: A Round-up of Reading.

===

Here is a promotional video for the University of Mississippi Air and Space Law program: Mississippi LL.M. in Air and Space Law Video | Res Communis

Update: Yet more space law. Ryan Saltz hosts the blog SpaceLawLibrarian, “A guide for researching and learning about space law”.

In this latest posting, for example, he introduces “the primary source of space law in the United States. The laws of the United States regarding outer space are codified in Title 51 of the United States Code”: U.S. Space Law – SpaceLawLibrarian.

The Space Show this week

Here is the line up for The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, March 4, 2013: 2-3:30 PM PST (5-6:30 PM EST, 4-5:30 PM CST): We welcome the return of HENRY VANDERBILT to discuss the upcoming Space Access Conference, commercial and NewSpace.

2. Tuesday, March 5, 2013, 7-8:30 PM PST (10-11:30 PM EST, 9-10:30 PM CST): We welcome the return of DR. HENRY HERTZFELD, Professor at GWU and the Space Policy Institute. Dr. Hertzfeld will be talking about commercial space and more.

3. Thursday, March 7, 2013:, 9:30-10:30 AM PST (12:30-1:30 PM EST. We welcome YONATON WINETRAUB, Founder and CTO of SpaceIL. Visit their website for more information: www.spaceil.com.

4. Friday, March 8, 2013, 9:30-11 AM PST (12:30-2 PM EST, 11:30AM-1PM CST): We welcome back DR. RYAN KOBRICK to discuss this year’s Yuri’s Night.

[ Update: These two entries got truncated accidentally:

5. The Friday, March 8, 2013 program from 12-1PM PST, (3-4 PM EST): We welcome back DR. NEIL deGRASSE TYSON to discuss his book “Space Chronicles” now released in paperback.

6. The Sunday, March 10, 2013 program from 9:30-11 AM PDT, (12:30-2 PM EDT): We welcome JOHN OEHLER to discuss his book “Aphrodesia: A novel of Suspense” and the role of smell and its relationship to space. For more information, visit his website, http://johnoehler.com.

]

See also:
/– The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
/– The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
/– The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

NASA selects another group of Cubesat projects for rides to space

NASA will provide piggyback rides to space for two dozen Cubesats, including many student built spacecraft, in the next three years:

NASA Announces Fourth Round of CubeSat Space Mission Candidates

WASHINGTON — NASA has selected 24 small satellites to fly as auxiliary payloads aboard rockets planned to launch in 2014, 2015 and 2016. The proposed CubeSats come from universities across the country, a Florida high school, several non-profit organizations and NASA field centers.

CubeSats belong to a class of research spacecraft called nanosatellites. The cube-shaped satellites measure about 4 inches on each side, have a volume of about 1 quart, and weigh less than 3 pounds.

The selections are from the fourth round of the CubeSat Launch Initiative. After launch, the satellites will conduct technology demonstrations, educational research or science missions. The selected CubeSats will be eligible for flight after final negotiations and an opportunity for flight becomes available.

The following organizations submitted winning satellite proposals:

— The Aerospace Corporation, El Segundo, Calif.
— The Discovery Museum and Planetarium, Bridgeport, Conn.
— Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Prescott, Ariz.
— Morehead State University, Morehead, Ky., in partnership with the University of California at Berkeley
— Montana State University, Bozeman (2 CubeSats) in partnership with The University of New Hampshire, Durham
— Merritt Island High School, Florida, in partnership with California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
— NASA’s Ames Research Center, Moffett Field, Calif.
— NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center, Greenbelt, Md. (3 CubeSats)
— NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory, Pasadena, Calif., in partnership with the California Institute of Technology, Pasadena (3 CubeSats)
— NASA’s Kennedy Space Center, Florida
— Pennsylvania State University, in partnership with the Naval Research Laboratory, Monterey, Calif., and the Aerospace Corporation, El Segundo, Calif.
— Saint Louis University, St. Louis
— Tyvak Nano-Satellites Systems, Irvine, Calif., in partnership with the California Polytechnic State University, San Luis Obispo
— University at Buffalo, The State University of New York
— University of Colorado, Boulder
— University of Florida, Gainesville, in partnership with Stanford University
— University of Maryland, Baltimore County
— University of Texas, Austin
— Vanderbilt University, Nashville, Tenn., in partnership with the Radio Amateur Satellite Corporation, Silver Spring, Md.

In the three previous rounds of the CubeSat initiative, NASA has selected 63 missions for flight. The agency’s Launch Services Program Educational Launch of Nanosatellite (ELaNa) Program has launched 12 CubeSat missions. This year, 22 CubeSat missions are scheduled for flight.

For additional information on NASA’s CubeSat Launch Initiative program, visit: http://go.nasa.gov/nXOuPI

For information about NASA and agency programs, visit: http://www.nasa.go

Everyone can participate in space