The Space Show this week – Jan.30.2017

The guests and topics of discussion on The Space Show this week:

1. Monday, Jan. 30, 2017: 2-3:30 pm PST (5-6:30 pm EST, 4-5:30 pm CST): We welcome DR. ERIC SEEDHOUSE to discuss his book about Mars One.

2. Tuesday, Jan. 31 2017: 7-8:30 pm PST, 10-11:30 pm EST, 9-10:30 pm CST: We welcome back JOAN HORVATH and RICH CAMERON to discuss what use is a consumer 3D printer. According to our guests, “At the moment there are a lot of overblown claims about 3D printing as well as people genuinely doing great stuff. What can you really do with a printer that is in the $1-3K range?”

3. Friday, Feb. 3, 2016: 9:30-11 am PST; (12:30-2 pm EST; 11:30 AM – 1 pm CST) We welcome back REX RIDENOURE, CEO Ecliptic Enterprises Corporation.

4. Sunday, Feb. 5,, 2017: 12-1:30 pm PST (3-4:30 pm EST, 2-3:30 5 pm CST): We welcome BARRY LEVIN back to the show for a continuation of his Back To The Envelope programming and 4th Industrial Revolution manufacturing as applied to the space industries.

See also:
* The Space Show on Vimeo – webinar videos
* The Space Show’s Blog – summaries of interviews.
* The Space Show Classroom Blog – tutorial programs

The Space Show is a project of the One Giant Leap Foundation.

The Space Show - David Livingston
David Livingston

Sci-Tech: Hyperloop competition at SpaceX underway. Live webcast.

The university Hyperloop competition at the SpaceX HQ in Hawthorne, California is underway. Live webcast is available at www.spacex.com/hyperloop. See also Hyperloop live report – Daily Breeze | Facebook.

30 university teams are participating in the contest. The track is a hollow tube about three-quarter-mile (1.2 km) long and pumped down to low pressure. Each of the teams will run their pod vehicle down the pod. The pod performance will be evaluated on acceleration, speed, braking, etc.

[ Update: Reports on the competition results:

From Alan Boyle:

Here’s who won the Hyperloop competition’s awards:

    • Fastest team: WARR Hyperloop.
    • Highest overall score: Delft Hyperloop.
    • Safety and reliability award: MIT Hyperloop.
    • Performance and operations: University of Maryland. Honorable mention: Virginia Tech, Purdue, Hyperlift (St. John’s High School, Texas).
    • Performance in flight: WARR Hyperloop.
    • Innovation: Badgerloop (University of Wisconsin at Madison) and Team rLoop (the contest’s only non-student team, organized through Reddit). Honorable mention: VicHyper (Royal Melbourne Institute of Technology, Australia).
    • Design and construction: The top 10, from 1 to 10, are Delft, WARR, MIT, Virginia Tech, University of Maryland, University of Washington, Purdue, Carnegie Mellon University, Hyperlift, Keio Alpha.

A view of the MIT, Delft, and WARR pods barreling through the tube:

Comments from Elon Musk about the event (plus some words about the tunneling project):

]

More background at

Updates at Hyperloop (@Hyperloop) | Twitter :

“Teams in final prep for today’s @SpaceX Hyperloop competition! Coverage begins at ~1:55pm PT at https://t.co/CoIedEujWn. #breakapod “

Here are some video reports from the test site:

 

My interview on The Space Show

I was a guest on The Space Show yesterday with David Livingston: The Space Show – Fri, 01/27/2017 – 09:30 –  Dr. Clark Lindsey

We welcomed Dr. Clark Lindsey back to the program. During our 92 minute program, we talked about changes and trends leading up to today’s NewSpace and commercial space industries. We covered most if not all the industry segments, major companies and projects and programs currently underway. This was a wide ranging program you will find most interesting. We even discussed company fiances, making money in space and much more. Read the full program summary at www.thespaceshow.com for this program this date, Friday, Jan. 27, 2017.

It was a fun discussion with David.  You can listen here to the audio:

=====

Moontopia contest entrants design lunar colonies

Eleven Magazine sponsored a contest called MOONTOPIA, which invited people to submit designs “for a self-sufficient lunar colony for living, working, researching and space tourism”. There were hundreds of entrants and they chose one winner and 8 runners-up. See descriptions of the nine designs at Moontopia competition-winners show nine visions for lunar architecture – dezeen.com.

The winner was Lunar Test Lab:

The Testlab settlement is based on the idea of the Russian Babushka Doll – one layer protects the next. On the very inside of the settlement are the Pods, which inhabit the private sleeping quarters, the communal rooms, the greenhouse, as well as the experimental labs and the necessary machinery to sustain life on the moon. Between the pods and the outer most protective membrane is the void that acts as yet another protective layer between livable and unlivable space.

Here is one of the runners-up called Platinum City:

 

Inhabitants:

3000 permanent ‘post-human moon citizens’.

Size:

Currently spanning 7km from the city to the space elevator port and growing. Awaiting teraforming landscape update and expansion of the drone membrane artificial atmosphere.

Video: Exocomets – “Now you see them, now you don’t”

Thousands of exoplanets around other stars have now been detected (mostly indirectly) in the past couple of decades. Now exocomets at other stars have also been detected. Here is a SETI Seminar about these distant dirty snowballs:

From the caption:

Present technology does not enable us to view images of these kilometer-sized infalling bodies, but the evaporation of gaseous products liberated from exocomets that occurs close to a star can potentially cause small disruptions in the ambient circumstellar disk plasma. For circumstellar disks that are viewed “edge-on” this evaporating material may be directly observed through transient (night-to-night and hour-to-hour) gas absorption features seen at rapidly changing velocities.

Using high resolution spectrographs mounted to large aperture ground-based telescopes, we have discovered 15 young stars that harbor swarms of exocomets. In this lecture we briefly describe the physical attributes of comets in our own solar system and the instrumental observing techniques to detect the presence of evaporating exocomets present around stars with ages in the 10 – 100 Myr range.

We note that this work has particular relevance to the dramatic fluctuations in the flux recorded towards “Tabby’s star” by the NASA Kepler Mission, that may be explained through the piling up of swarms of exocomets in front of the central star.

Everyone can participate in space